June 2018 Travel Restrictions

As you have likely heard by now, the most recent version of the travel ban, affecting Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen, has been upheld by the US Supreme Court. Chad, which was included in the original draft, was removed in an update last fall. Otherwise, the ban will remain in effect as it has been since December. For more information on the decision, see the following:

OIS’s previous correspondence regarding the ban, which includes links to the complete text of the ban, a fact sheet and FAQs, is copied below for your reference. The chart below provides a summary of the restrictions based on country and visa type. Please note that the “Immigrants” column refers to the issuance of immigrant visas from abroad. Individuals who are already lawful permanent residents (i.e. have their green cards) are able to travel. In addition, this ban does not prevent those who are in the US legally and who are eligible to adjust status to lawful permanent resident from doing so. If you have questions, please feel free to reach out to your immigration specialist. Please click on the image to see a larger version of the chart below. Travel Ban